A New Media……

I recently saw something that inspired me to try my hand at silk ribbon embroidery. I’ve always been interested to try this form of embroidery. I love how delicate and beautiful the roses look in the silk ribbon.
After some research on the internet, a book borrowed from the library and a small kit that I had purchased long ago just for the ribbon, I was set to try this old art form.
silk embroidery stiches

Silk ribbon embroidery

Silk ribbon embroidery

I found it pretty easy to do since I used to do embroidery when I was younger. Wonder what ever happened to those pieces I did back then. I remember a cute Holly Hobbie pattern I had done that never got mounted or framed. Left it at my mom’s when I moved out-probably long gone now.

I guess I could always do it again

I guess I could always do it again

silk ribbon embroidery

silk ribbon embroidery

This is a second embroidery I did, to make into a needle book since I don’t have anything to keep all these embroidery needle in now. When you start a new art form, it’s a lot of time and money into the supplies to begin it. Still working on finding ribbon- eBay has a good selection, but I’m not sure on quality. I have found between the ribbon I purchased for this project and another, compared to the ribbon that came with the kit that there is a difference in quality.

The real project that I finally finished will be posted later as I still need to take pics of it. I’m really happy with how it turned out.

Leave a comment

Filed under art, BJD's, sewing

Leave a Reply

