CDDC- Challenge 2 Put Your Best Foot Forward

Sept 20th

This week take a pair of shoes/boots and design an outfit around it.
Guest Judge: Joe Tai

Design an outfit around a pair of shoes. Wow, O.K. this is going to be a fun challenge. I love shoes, in fact, I have designed a dress just for a pair of shoes more than once. Too bad I couldn’t use one of those.Bombe

Sept 21
My first thought for this challenge went immediately to a pic of Dior shoes with gold ball soles and heels.

Dior shoes 2008 Resort

Dior shoes 2008 Resort

Hmmm, I could make something similar using jewelry components. I stayed with a classic point toe mule with ankle ties but added the unconventional gold ball soles and filagree ball with rhinestone insets and a gold cone for the heel.
It was a little bit of a challenge getting the heel right, but I’m pretty happy with how they turned out.

Sept 24
Now for the outfit. I wanted to stay classic-inspired by Dior and the New Look (can you tell I like Dior?). My first fabric choice was a white with gold ottoman for a jacket and maybe a straight skirt. I also had a green with gold cross dye silk organza I thought would make an interesting skirt. The doll I though of using for this look was Sybarite Swallow, with bright red hair pulled into a classic 50’s bun, but I have trouble with getting her to stand correctly, and with these shoes I could see fighting with her the whole time. She could not stand with out a stand. So I am second guessing now myself now. I want to use a doll that stands well, and I start looking at Psyche-my Numina Grey by my friend Paul Pham. She’s gorgeous, stands well with out a stand and her jointing is beautiful. I haven’t used her in a while and she starts inspiring me. Yes, she will be a good one to use.
n1026409202_223617_5618

Sept 28
I start drafting and make a muslin of a jacket for Grey. The fit is beautiful on her and I get inspired by an interesting fabric combo of a gold/rose crossdye cotton and gold micro sequined mesh. Very different, not sure if it will be too much but I start the jacket anyway.

My daughter doesn’t care for the new color combo. I am now questioning myself again. Do I make something that the judges will like or do what inspires me? The design is pretty much the same for either doll. Which will photograph better? I will probably end up making both and take it from there.

Sept 29

after much thought and sleeping on it, inspiration won out. I decided to be true to myself and do what inspires me.

Oct 1
I stayed with the gold micro sequined mesh and rose/gold crossdye. Only 3 days left to get this finished. I worked all day on the jacket and it turned out fabulous. The fit is so great on and Grey looks good in it. I did have a challenge finding the right wig for her though.

The shoes changed- I kept the same heel and soles of gold balls but did a brown snakeskin sandal instead. She can stand on her own in these and I can’t believe they turned out so well. I’m really happy with my finished look.
LoriLShoes

LoriLExtra1
LoriLExtra2

2 Comments

Filed under CDDC, Doll Thoughts, sewing, Uncategorized

2 responses to “CDDC- Challenge 2 Put Your Best Foot Forward

  1. bonnie elliston

    What a wonderful design. I have also done many outfits around first the shoes then the outfit. You are a very talented lady. bonnie

    Like

  2. joe

    love love love the shoes darling!

    Like

Leave a Reply

