CDDC- New Challenge #4

We just got our new challenge:

Here’s the clue: On the Fashion Edge – This week’s guest judge is an amazing doll artist. His OOAK creations are always on the cutting edge. This week you must create an avante guarde casual outfit(no you don’t have to use an Avant Guard doll) This outfit must be edgy…think Alexander McQueen.

Ok, Avant Garde. Avant Garde? Here’s the definition from Dictionary.com
–adjective
of or pertaining to the experimental treatment of artistic, musical, or literary material.

unorthodox or daring; radical.

I would look at this as being more conceptual work. I’m really going to have to do some research on this one and really challenge myself.
I think I have done some things in the past that are different, but considered avant garde, I’m not so sure. I think it means different things to different people. This is not going to be an easy challenge, but I do have ideas stirring around in my head.

Wikipedia gives a little more insight, I think.
“Avant-garde represents a pushing of the boundaries of what is accepted as the norm or the status quo, primarily in the cultural realm”

Well, I’ll be thinking about this challenge, meanwhile getting my daughter’s Halloween costume done by Sat.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

