Romance is in the Air- Part 2

So I finally am able to post the pics now, and give you a little insight to my thought process on this Romance Challenge from the Couture Doll Shops.  The entries were published in the latest FDQ magazine-Romance edition- as well as a link from Couture Doll Shops to a voting page.  Tomorrow we will find out who won the challenge by popular vote.  So wish me luck!!

When we were given the instructions for this latest challenge, I knew I wanted to use my BJD’s rather than the 16″ fashion dolls.  I needed to represent my Angel Rose shop (located in Couture Court in the Couture Doll Shops).  I have done so many challenges using the fashion dolls that my BJD’s were getting neglected.  I also knew I wanted to do something with historical inspiration, because I think the historical dress is so romantic.

First was going through my books on historical detail and fashion, and finding my fabric.  I had quite a bit of off white silk dupioni that I really needed to start using and white/ivory is very romantic and bridal.  But I didn’t want to do a bridal look per-say.  Also, white and ivory seemed very in-fashion at the moment.  I also knew I wanted to do a corset and a full skirt. 

To top it off, a bonnet made of buckram and millinery wire, covered in the matching silk with a pleated under lining and flowers. (I didn’t get a chance to take many pictures while completing this ensemble-hubby was using my camera quite a bit for his stuff) I was actually sewing this hat during one of my daughters volleyball games hoping to get it finished in time.  I’m always completing at the last minute.

bonnet partly completed

under brim pleating

I did get it completed on time and the pics taken in time for the magazine.

Romance challenge entry White Rose

Along with the photos we needed to submit a paragraph explaining what our Romance depicted.  Here’s my little romance story:

A tortured romantic soul-she wanders aimlessly, not knowing when the eras or time begins or ends, as her fashion shows in a mixture of historical styles.

A ghostlike figure forever searching for the one true love she lost….

each picture had a caption to it

A lone figure wanders aimlessly
She pauses…Does she see her one lost love?
She looks longingly at the apparition of the one she lost
A ghostly figure clad in white says goodbye…

At least it was finished for now.  I needed to move on to another challenge that was presented to us on Couture Doll Shops for another magazine and it was a a big challenge.  So of course that will be a post in the fall.  Wish I could give some sneek peeks because I think it turned out great and there’s a bonus tutorial coming with it but you all will just have to wait…..

When that challenge was finished I was able to move on to finish the last component of this one- a jacket.  Taking inspiration from the Regency era, a ruffled front, pouf sleeve jacket emerged  to be worn over the corset.  Also, new pictures needed to be taken since the other ones were done in haste.

I love how this photo shoot turned out

White Rose will be available on my website Angel Rose

1 Comment

Filed under BJD's, Boutique, CDDC, doll photography, Historical Fashion, sewing

One response to “Romance is in the Air- Part 2

  1. She’s gorgeous. I particularly like the photo of her looking back. There’s a sense of mystery… ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

